SPEECH: National Library of Australia and Australian of The Year Awards

20 March 2023


Federation Chamber


National Library of Australia: Trove,

New South Wales Australian of The Year Awards

Ms CLAYDON(NewcastleDeputy Speaker) (10:57): I have just returned this morning from the most amazing behind-the-scenes tour of the National Library. The National Library is an integral part of our national identity and heritage, and it is crucial that we ensure it is properly maintained and resourced, which is why I rise to speak today about Trove, the National Library's premier program that digitises and provides free access to a treasure trove of artefacts, curiosities and stories from Australia's cultural, community and research institutions.

It is vital that people who cannot access libraries and institutions in person are able to access these collections online. Trove has become a vital part of Australia's cultural infrastructure, with approximately 20 million visits per year. It's enabled users from across Australia and the globe to access newspapers, gazettes, magazines, images, maps, artefacts, reports, diaries, letters, books, archives, music, video, audio material and, importantly, archived websites that would otherwise be out of reach.

University of Newcastle professor Lyndall Ryan used Trove to gather major sources of evidence for her project to create a digital map of colonial frontier massacre sites across Australia. Professor Ryan's team accessed more than 90 newspapers on Trove from across Australia, and without this kind of information to follow up the project would not have succeeded. Trove is a national treasure, a vital educational resource and crucial for the preservation of Australia's history, and it must be properly maintained and resourced for future generations.

I am delighted to rise today to acknowledge some of the incredible Novocastrians who were recognised in the Australia Day honours this year. Mrs Dorothy Ebbott was awarded the Order of Australia medal for exceptional service to the Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society and commitment to the preservation of our rich local history. Professor Maralyn Foureur received her OAM for significant service to nursing in the field of midwifery and her outstanding contribution and commitment to the health and maternity sector. Professor Brian Kelly was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for his outstanding contribution and commitment in the field of medical education and research excellence. Mr Henry Scruton was awarded the Australian emergency services Medal for his distinguished service to duty. Mrs Rhona Scruton received her OAM for exceptional service to Surf Life Savingin particular, her outstanding contribution and commitment to Hunter Surf Life Saving and her longstanding service to the Newcastle community. Mr Patrick Slattery was awarded an OAM for his decade of service to the Newcastle community through a range of roles. Mr Andrew Traill was awarded an OAM for his exceptional service to Newcastle, as was Ms Tanya Wilks.

Novocastrians continue to astound me. I congratulate them all for their exceptional service. https://youtu.be/iRpJfDpqEjs